Sir Graham Brady receives City Freedom

The Chairman of the 1922 Committee and member of the Conservative Party, Rt Hon Sir Graham Brady, has been awarded the Freedom of the City of London, in recognition of his long public service.


Sir Graham Brady has been the Member of Parliament for Altrincham and Sale West since 1997.


He has held the positions of Shadow Minister for Schools, Shadow Europe Minister, and been a whip.


In his role as the chairman of the 1922 Committee, which he has held since 2010, he represents the interests of backbench Conservative MPs and oversees the Conservative Party leadership elections.


Outside of politics Sir Graham is a former Governor of Manchester Metropolitan University, a Member of the Hamblin Education Trust, patron of the Counselling and Family Centre in Altrincham and a supporter of Stockdales, a charity supporting children and adults with learning disabilities in Manchester.


City Corporation Policy Chairman, Chris Hayward, said:

“It is an honour and a privilege to bestow Sir Graham with this Freedom in recognition of his long public service.

“Today we show our gratitude for all that he has done for Parliament and his involvement in many worthy causes across the country.”


Bob Wigley, Chair of UK Finance, and a Past Master of the Guild of International Bankers, said:

“Graham Brady is a most worthy recipient of the Freedom as he has long supported the City and financial services ecosystem, recognising its central role in supporting the UK economy.”


Rt Hon Sir Graham Brady said:

“It is a special honour to be awarded the Freedom of the City of London, part of a centuries old tradition that is also associated with such a vibrant and successful part of the British economy.”

“One of the City of London’s ancient traditions, the Freedom is believed to have begun in 1237 and enabled recipients to carry out their trade.”


As well as being nominated for, or applying for, the Freedom, it is also offered by the City of London Corporation to individuals as a way of paying tribute to their outstanding contribution to London or public life, or to celebrate a very significant achievement.


Recent high-profile recipients include theatrical legend, Sir Cameron Mackintosh, LGBTQ+ activist and London Night Czar, Amy Lamé; Bank of England Deputy Governor, Sir Jon Cunliffe; and Professor Dame Sarah Gilbert, who initiated and led the development of the Oxford-AstraZeneca COVID-19 vaccine.